1126 Comments

The more important question, is it safe to hang out with people dumb enough to be reading The Atlantic in 2021?

Expand full comment

When will the double boosted turn on the underboosted?

Expand full comment

The "vaxxed" and "unvaxxed" will always have one thing in common...neither will ever be FULLY VACCINATED !

Expand full comment

If you're asking yourself this question- and especially if you're asking a newspaper to help you answer it- I don't want to hang out with you.

Expand full comment

Yes, it's safe to hang out with the unboosted. It is not, however, safe to hang out with the boosted 🤦‍♀️

Expand full comment

As a dentist, this post and video are quite special! One, I remember working without gloves and a mask. Two, patients still think we can see inside their mouth when they refuse to open. I know, not the reason for your post but had to share the humor I got out of this. Thanks for making me smile :) Hard to do some days when I work in a profession of sheep!

I have had so many patients come in double vaxx'd and boosted still completely afraid to visit family or go shopping. The kicker is, they are all less than 50 years old and can't wait to get their kids vaxx'd. It breaks my heart. I hope we can open their eyes before it is too late!

Expand full comment

Covid is everywhere, vaxxed and unvaxxed, boosted and not boosted, animals and yes, even in poop (appropriate given this sh!tshow). Let's get on with life!

Expand full comment

They will always keep moving the goal post. You will never be able to achieve a perfect social credit score (uh, I mean vaccination status) for long.

Expand full comment

If you celebrated Thanksgiving with your family and friends you are smarter than the entirety of the staff at The Atlantic.

Expand full comment

Boosted WaPo Neocon who mocked the "antivaxxers" dies of sudden cardia arrest in NYC. The universe doth have a sense of humor.

Expand full comment

What a bunch of pussies. The Atlantic should give out tampons with this story.

Expand full comment

I work remotely in our system commonly referred to as "health" care. Yesterday I spoke to (yet another) injectee who contracted "it" at work, tested positive. He described his symptoms as severe cough, fever, chills, nausea, bedridden for at least a week. Luckily he was feeling better. His M.D. prescribed a 5 day course of prednisone - hey, he got something! He also received monoclonal AB infusion at an outdoor clinic that he said helped. My next question: "Have you been Foolly Vacks Sin Ated?" "Oh yes", he replied. "I had my second shot back in April." He paused and then said, "And I got very sick".

Expand full comment

I’d argue is it safe to be around the boosted? My husband was vaccinated (no booster) and my daughter’s menstrual cycle went crazy that month. Never happened to her before. And two of my chiropractor friends can tell when they’ve been around vaccinated patients. They get swollen lymph nodes, menstrual irregularities, etc.

Expand full comment

I get it now. Covid is like a movie franchise. It's not for everyone, certainly not Team Reality, but it has its fanbase and the fanbase craves more.

Expand full comment

Comments are awesome- and the great majority i agree with and they give me hope for America. This triple board certified MD heart surgeon says hell yes. I have seen myocarditis related to the jab. Did any of you “vaxxed” people get full informed consent review with an MD who answered all your questions and told you about the risks? No, I didn’t think so. Sorry.

Expand full comment

Covid vaccines seem a little like Pringles. Once you start...

Expand full comment

My younger brother apparently doesn't think so. He was in town last week from Seattle and he would only meet me outside, from 6 feet away, and he wore a paper mask he kept touching the entire time. He was afraid because I had just recovered from covid. He's been jabbed.

Expand full comment

It's not safe to hang out with people who read The Atlantic even if they are boosted.

Expand full comment

I like the term PureBloods, which makes the rest mongrels.

Expand full comment

If it's safety they are looking for, they won't find it in this world. From the moment of conception until one shuffles off their mortal coil, the world if full of dangers. Cheers.

Expand full comment

It’s unforgivable how all these quality media organisations have degenerated into propaganda mouthpieces . When I talk to people here in Oz who think they are informed it’s amazing how blinded they are to the truth . I feel like I’m on another planet . These threads and posts help me feel I’m not alone . Thank you everyone for being here , it would be much harder without you .

Expand full comment

My Aunt ( a retired RN) - not only regularly reads The Atlantic but listens to NPR religiously. So she's effectively being tagged teamed by two of the best propagandists in the business. She used to have critical thinking skills but TDS and Covid hysteria has long since killed those brain cells. I'm working very hard to convince her not to get a booster especially because she was recently very sick from a neurological event - supposedly caused by another medication and not the vax. Not a single medical professional considered that to even be a possibility for her very serious issues - except for me (and I'm also an RN). So, yesterday I sent her my complete Covid resource list - and yes, Alex - you were at the top! I'm hoping to make some headway but I'm competing with the other side of the family which includes a pro vax, low information Pediatrician (the other grandma of my Aunt's grandchild). They're all vaxxed up, Covid hysterics who have spent the last 12 days freaking out because the baby's uncle had the audacity to kiss him on Thanksgiving and the following day, the uncle, tested postive for Covid. The baby, of course, is fine - but, still....how dare the baby be exposed to covid while surrounded by supposedly protected vaxxed up family! And the baby was exposed to worse - when his Mom got vaxxed during pregnancy.... For the love of pete - I don't know how any of these people are surviving life in general these days. The anxiety and fear is so palpable and sad. So - it's boosters for life on that side and my Aunt will either go down with them or I will be successful in pulling her out of the dumpster fire. The propaganda surrounding me is relentless. Today I'm told that the *majority* of hospitalized Covid patients in my state are - you guessed it - "unvaxxed". I can't even verify if this is true but I don't believe it anyway because I'm seeing the opposite with my own eyes. Not a single hospitlization of the vaxxed is ever attributed to vaccine injury or failed vax efficacy - it's always a "coincendental". And, I knew this was bound to happen but now we're being given pep talks about getting the booster and how "easy peasy" it was for our boss who could play tennis the next day.... while we have patients dropping like flies from post booster events. Or we're told that the very obvious and disturbing health care staffing shortages - across every aspect of the health care industry, have every thing to do with *anything* other than the vax mandate. It's enough to make me start to question how much longer I can continue on in the field working with colleagues I once admired but who have literally lost their minds. Meanwhile, I remain silent about my unvaxxed status, not feeling good about having to hide it yet really having no alternative. I've long since reckoned with the fact that this will be the hill I die on.

Expand full comment

All double jabbed are now unvaxxed.

Ha ha

Expand full comment

A better question: Is it safe to hang out with vaccinated people? This unreasonable fear of giving someone a virus when you don't have any symptoms of being sick is very destructive. Keeping loved ones apart because of this fear is just plain evil.

Expand full comment

How can Pfizer already have a booster for omicron when they don’t know enough about the virus yet?! What cocktail is in this booster?!

Where is the booster for insanity and ignorance?!

Expand full comment

I am old enough to remember when people said they were in a "mixed marriage", they meant that the spouses were either of different races or religions or both. Several years ago, one wag used that phrase to indicate that the spouses were affiliated with different political parties. Well, right now I am in a mixed marriage that has nothing to do with race or religion and perhaps only incidentally connected with our different party affiliations. No, in my case, I have a spouse who is deathly afraid of contracting the SARS-2 virus and whose approach to the problem extends well beyond listening to the nostrums at, say, CNN, the CDC, the Administration, Fauci and his minions, etc. So of course she is fully vaccinated and has gotten the booster. And she is a mask person--no surprise there. Our daughter came to visit recently from NYC and I found out that my wife asked my daughter to get tested before she came over, notwithstanding that she too has gotten fully vaccinated and boostered. All this out of concern that I, fit as the proverbial fiddle, who have not and will not drink the COVID Kool-Aid, might contract the virus, thereby creating contagion right in our very home. Of course all this is laughable--at least to me--but I have to live in an environment in which my inclinations as to how to conduct my remaining years do not control certain aspects of behavior. It has been more than 42 years since we both stood under the Chupah so for better or worse, I put up with it at least up to a point. But no jabs for me and no masks. I have been a catcher since I was 10 and have played, until recently, in the Peoples Republic of Arlington County for nearly the past 40 years but not this year when the County imposed a cloth mask requirement on catchers on the field. I wear a catcher's mask to protect myself from real dangers, not the faux ones the County is concerned about. And I stopped giving talks in my synagogue, talks I had been asked to give on matters of sacred text, Judaica, etc. over the past 30 years because of a mask requirement to be in the synagogue. So now I just pray at home daily. My wife does not care that I take good care of myself, walk 6-8 miles daily, do 10-20 minutes of daily rebounding to remain in the trim and am only 10 pounds away from my weight when we returned from our honeymoon. Big deal. Because I will not submit to the injection and mask monsters, I remain ever susceptible to contracting the dreaded virus. I wonder how many others are in a mixed marriage like mine. It is a good thing that I have a strong constitution for enduring unpleasantness. It turns out that love and affection will get you only so far during these dark days. Ah well, things could be worse, much worse than my current ordeal.

Expand full comment

We are having a full-blown Star-bellied Sneetches problem. (Credit DarkHorse Podcast)

Expand full comment

Let's perhaps take a lesson from Narnia: "safe" and "good" may not be the same thing.

Expand full comment

Alex it might be time for a look into PPSD. Post Pandemic Stress Disorder.

https://www.standard.co.uk/news/health/post-pandemic-stress-disorder-heart-conditions-covid-london-physicians-b969436.html

Expand full comment

Is it safe being around the vaccinated? They are all lunatics.. 🤣

Expand full comment

I have “friends” like this. Thankfully Covid has spared me from attending our regular dinner parties with conversations so vapid and boring I have to drink excessively just to get through them. These people have always been afraid of their own shadows so to them I say, “good luck.”

Expand full comment

So the Protected want the Unprotected to utilize the Protection that no longer protects to further protect the Protected?

Expand full comment

Let's ask the right question. Is it safe to be in the presence of the holy mRNA injectees? How do we really know? 40 trillion spike protein packages...what happens to them?

After seeing that the secret Pfizer data (the data they wanted the CDC to keep hidden until 2076) for the first 3 months of the holy mRNA injection has been forced into the public's eye, I trust no one injected with this unholy garbage. The data is gruesome, to say the least.

Supposedly, killer covid-19 is all spike proteins and so is the holy mRNA injections from Pfizer and Moderna...any connections? You bet your booties.

No matter, the entire covid scam is based on tests and cases using the extremely faulty PCR method. Show me the actual printout or output that identifies covid and all the 1,247 mutations and how it is determined what is which. Never gonna happen.

Expand full comment

Literally all of my current SOI that are Covid Positive right now are VAXED! How can we ignore what we see in front of us. MSM and Fauci makes us all think we are crazy and that only the vaxed boosted are protected. All of this is ludicrous. The blackballed scientists all warned us!

Expand full comment

What about the un-ziptied? Is it safe to go hang out with folks who have un-ziptied hands that could morph into fists that might pummel your head? I expect a "zip tie" mandate immediately! Safety first!

Expand full comment

One of the Mission Bay (SDUSD) teachers today informed the class that their vaccination status is now visible on the Powerschool attendance records (teacher view). Unvaccinated students have a red mark, partially vaccinated have a yellow mark, and fully vaccinated are marked in green. the students and teacher were appalled. This is private health information that possibly should only be known by a District-level nurse of health officer. This is total overreach by the District. Further, teachers with fear could treat students differently based on this information which is discriminatory based on medical condition/medical status.

Disgusting and I bet mandatory boosters are next for the teens.

Expand full comment

Is it safe to hang out with the vaccinated is my question. What with all the talk of shedding of the manipulated spike protein. The vaccine overloads the immune system like flooding a field. All sorts of shite comes out. In the ICU, we NEVER allowed any vaccines to be given.

Expand full comment

The question itself is embarrassing. Here’s another question - why did I get vaccinated if I have to worry about being infected by those who have been vaccinated but didn’t get the boost? Shouldn’t I feel comfortable hanging out with people who weren’t even vaccinated? Don’t answer that, I hang out with them already. I mean, I’m vaxed & boosted! But wait - aren’t the vaxed still getting infected? Why aren’t the Columbia School of Journalism grads w/ their master degrees not asking that question?

Expand full comment

OMG still can’t believe this is not a joke but I just read the Pfizer has a vax for Omicrom. It’s a 3 dose series. The recommendation is get a booster now and then get the 3 dose new one. I shit you not!

Expand full comment

We should nearing the point where if someone admits they work for one of these media organizations, the reaction should be disdain similar to someone admitting they work for a tobacco company. The reaction should actually be worse, since the second hand effects of their product are much, much worse.

Expand full comment

Can we call ourselves Undocumented Citizens instead?

Expand full comment

It's like Dr. Seuss' "Sneeches" story - except with dangerous gene therapy shots instead of belly stars.

Expand full comment

And no one dare ask the question: what are the long term effects of maintaining artificially elevated antibody levels over an extended period of time? Oh, and they are elevated in response to your own cells producing proteins via mRNA. Will your antibodies eventually “decide” that your own cells are the virus?

Expand full comment

I am naturally immune but at some point it is possible a variant created by the vaxed and their leaky genetic treatments could affect me, especially as they take their subscription jabs. I wonder if it is safe to hang out with the vaxed?

Expand full comment

So far, few people I know personally are overly fussy about the vaxx status of other acquaintances. It's been mostly a don't ask, don't tell situation.

Expand full comment

Not to offend anyone but if it is ok for someone to identify as another gender, is it ok for me to “identify” as vaxed, boosted and super boosted?

Expand full comment

It's a war.

If we don't take big pharma's lethal concoctions for the rest of our lives we'll be ostracised and barred from participating in life - or thrown in jail.

Politicians laugh whilst they vote to remove our civil liberties and the right to protest.

In Melbourne, Australia, in sheer desperation at vaccine mandates, a woman sets fire to herself in her car.

In Germany, a father shoots his wife and then his three children and then himself for fear of being imprisoned after his employer discovers a forged vaccine certificate.

Governments, the mainstream media, big pharma and big tech are destroying all reason for living and there is no effective fight back.

Expand full comment

"Endentulous mouthbreathers!" 😆

Ah, Alex, your particular brand of droll, sarcastic humor brightens the news landscape.

Expand full comment

Thank you, Alex, for your wit. Its the only thing getting me through these days.

Expand full comment

The comment sections are the icing on the cake for these substack posts (Alex, el gato's etc..)...tragic, witty, frivolous, educational, inspirational, desperate, humorous, insightful and sincere. Effin' glorious.

Expand full comment